top of page

Botanique by Veronique Kwak

Breeze Online Gallery has

20 Questions with Veronique Kwak

1. How long have you been an artist?

To me, art is almost intuition. Each individual has an artist inside to be inspired. Professionally, I began to develop a style of my own at the moment I built the site The Affective Dimension of Veronique Kwak, in which I nickname myself as “Lady of Whims” since 2016. Two years, in general. Of course, I’ve always been with a passion for art and drawings.

2. What made you want to become an artist?

I was very keen to see how my hands could create and whether I could embody the image/symbol I have stored within my head whenever I felt inspired. In addition, there is a sense of honesty in real art that challenges your perception. Let’s say, I became an artist because that was the best way for me to be honest as I am and express emotions which aren’t bottled or glossed.

3. How would you describe your work?

My work is an intercultural embodiment of human faces and other living things like plants and reptiles. I use the linguistic logic of Chinese characters to compound visual symbols of my own. Each piece can be best appreciated as symbols that bear stories, meanings and other raw unreconciled emotions.

4. What issues or themes are you looking at and what challenges are there?

The challenge may be, my style is said to be somehow repetitive. But that is the way I am. I have no idea whether I should view it as a plus or a minus.

5. What mediums do you work in or prefer to work in and why?

I use calligraphic pen made of rubber as well as crayons. I like the strokes of Chinese calligraphy, mingled with a childlike Western touch. Most of all, they look unique together and highly accessible in Taiwan.

6. What is the main theme of your work or your message?

Self-acceptance and shadow work. I use the metaphor of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s short story Rappaccini’s Daughter (1844), in which a fair young woman is raised by her scientist father with poisonous plants and commits suicide when she grows as an adult, as the metaphor of hidden darkness and trauma for each person. We are, more or less, poisoned by society/culture/authority and now we must learn to love ourselves even as a poison.

7. What are the obstacles or difficulties that you have in your location?

Asian people are susceptible to Japanese manga and their taste might be limited to bright-colored, comparatively cartoonish design/style. In addition, the existent museums may not be with enough diversity to include my style of art.

8. How have you managed to overcome them?

This is my first exhibition. I’m struggling, still. Keep on trying, looking around, and reaching out with an open mind, I think.

9. What are you currently working on and have you discovered anything new?

I’m planning to open another series of works in a new collection titled Reptilian Love. My new discovery /inspiration is the photography of Afghanistan/Pakistan refugees, who are with a variety of distinguished styles, un-contaminated by capitalism and fashion. They seem closer to nature, like reptiles – strong, self-sufficient and defiant.

10. Have you had any setbacks?

Many, of course. I do need more media exposure. And I do wish people to read what I have written for each piece. I create meanings with images, which are no longer just images but a system of “language” that contains truth.

11. What’s been your greatest achievement to date?

Each time I try to create, I have no idea whether it will be great or not. I guess, managing to overcome some obstacles and have this exhibition is an achievement I’m grateful to have. Thank you.

12. Where do you see your work in the future?

On the internet or a number of galleries or artistic cafes in Taipei.

13. What would you like to do regarding your work?

I wish to collaborate with a digital artist who is good with technology to set in motion.

Also, I would like to work with a fashion designer to put them on clothing and handbags.

14. What excites you at the moment?

I’m about to experience this incredible experience of 3D online gallery showing my works.

15. Who is you favorite artist?

Marlene Dumas.

16. What influences you and your work?

Green Expressionism. I love those intensities the German Expressionism artists invested in their art.

17. What advice would you give to your younger self?

Frankly, I don’t have much to say to my younger self, who used to feel even greater despair. But that despair had driven me into what I am today. I think I would just leave her alone as she was.

18. What’s your favorite color? Food? Movie? Music?

Red is my favorite color.

My favorite movie is classic American film noir Out of the Past (1946).

My favorite food is chicken alfredo. And I love Tom Waits.

19. What is your favorite quote?

“I don’t draw people, and I draw images, instead.” – Marlene Dumas

20. What can we expect from Veronique Kwak in the future?

She will be as honest, raw and expressive as she always is, in her art.

Special Thank you to Veronique Kwak.


Recent Posts
Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
bottom of page